Skip Navigation

Buffalo Police Department Confidential Tip Line: 847-2255
Buffalo Police Department
Mayor Byron W. Brown
Commissioner Daniel Derenda

Home » Press Releases » 2010 News Archive » BPD Members Honored at Medaille College Awards

BPD Members Honored at Medaille College Awards

Three veteran members of the Buffalo Police Department were honored at the 5th Annual Medaille College Media Awards Ceremony that was held on Monday, March 22nd.

First Deputy Commissioner Byron Lockwood, Chief of Detectives Dennis J.

Richards and Captain Mark Maraschiello all received Lifetime Achievement Awards in Law Enforcement.

Byron Lockwood is a 26 year veteran of the Buffalo Police Department. He joined the force as a police officer in 1984 and rose through the ranks to detective. Deputy Lockwood has worked in various units including Intelligence and the Street Crime Unit. In 2006, Lockwood was appointed to his current position as First Deputy Commissioner.

Chief of Detectives, Dennis J Richards, began his law enforcement career in

1977 as a civilian report technician. Five years later he became a police officer. Over the next decade, he ascended through the ranks to captain where he handled issues ranging from neighborhood complaints to quality of life concerns to gangs. In February 2006, Richards was appointed to Chief of Detectives. In his current capacity, he oversees several squads including homicide, narcotics as well as the operations of the all detectives in the five districts of the Buffalo Police Department.

Captain Mark Maraschiello is currently Commander of the Buffalo Police Swat Team. He has held that position since 1998. As commander of the Swat Team, Maraschiello is responsible for developing and implementing all training exercises for the SWAT Team plus supervising all callouts involving SWAT.

Maraschiello joined the Buffalo Police Department in 1989 as a police officer. In November 1992, he was awarded Officer of the Month after arresting a murder suspect who had shot at officers responding to a call.

Medaille Awards

From left: Dennis J. Richards, Byron Lockwood, Mark Maraschiello