Skip Navigation

Buffalo Police Department Confidential Tip Line: 847-2255
Buffalo Police Department
Mayor Byron W. Brown
Commissioner Daniel Derenda

Home » Press Releases » 2007 News Archive » 14 New Police Officers Sworn In by BPD

14 New Police Officers Sworn In by BPD

Buffalo Police Commissioner H. McCarthy Gipson announced Monday afternoon the swearing-in of fourteen new police officers. Twelve of the officers are former Buffalo Municipal Housing Authority Officers(BMHA). After being sworn in today they will begin a three week refresher course. After the refresher course, the 12 former BMHA Officers will then be assigned to different police districts

The two other Officers sworn in today are former report technicians. They are Sherry Ebert and Amy Frankel. After being sworn in today, the two will complete internal assignments at Police Headquarters until January of '08. At that time, they will attend the six month training academy. They are scheduled to complete their training in the summer of '08.

The fourteen Officers all took the most recent police exam back in the spring of this year. The 14 additions brings the number of Buffalo Police Officers to 722.

The Commissioner also announced the following promotions. Lt. Brian S. Strobele to Chief. Lt. James P. Shea to Captain. Police Officer George W. Morlock to Lieutenant. And four Police Officers have been promoted to the rank of Detectives. They are : Patricia N. Wrest, Christopher F. Sterlace, Marlin Hall and Deborah Buyers.